Other Attractions


Other Activities

West Moto Park

West Moto Park offers individuals, families and groups the ultimate off-road adventure experience whether they’re serious MX riders or novices! West Moto Park is located in the Wheatbelt town of Wyalkatchem, approximately 2 hours drive north east of Perth, the perfect distance for that weekend getaway. West Moto Park has been created to give people a fun, safe and legal place for people to ride. West Moto Park has a range of bikes and quads available for hire to suit all ages and riding abilities. All hire bikes and quads come with a full set of safety equipment. They have a camp ground with fully appointed, modern ablution block with hot showers and drinking water available. Fire up one of the BBQ’s to cook up a feast or sit around the campfire (only permitted between March and October) and toast marshmallows after a day of riding. They have room for all sizes of tents, caravans and motor homes, and kids under 12 years of age camp for free! The camping sites are unpowered but generators are allowed. Whether you are bringing your own bike, quad or buggy or hiring one, West Moto Park boasts a number of tracks and trails open to all riders. Whether you are a junior rider or motocross competitor, our tracks and trails are sure to provide plenty of thrills!

Address: 453 Begley Road, Wyalkatchem 6485 Western Australia
Website: https://www.westmotopark.com.au/
Phone: (08) 9681 1523
Open: Thursday–Sunday | 8:00am–5:00pm Every day of the school holidays and public holidays

Wheatbelt Science Trail

Inspiring the discovery and excitement of science. The Wheatbelt Science Trail combines information on the STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths) behind sites of interest across the Wheatbelt. Sites are categorised by ‘do’, ‘see’ or ‘learn’ depending on the experience level, and cover twelve topics. The Trail also features a series of geocaches throughout the Wheatbelt region.

Website: https://wheatbeltscience.org.au/trail/


Join the worlds largest treasure hunt and find the Geocache hidden in the Wheatbelt Way.

Website: https://www.geocaching.com/play


Hood-Penn Museum

The Hood-Penn Museum in Westonia is the result of an extremely generous donation of a large historical collection from the Hood-Penn family who previously owned the Burracoppin Store.  The museum features a variety of scenes showcasing early life in the shire including a pub scene, a shop/hardware store scene, a petrol station/garage scene, a kitchen scene, a bedroom scene, and a blacksmith/farm workshop scene.  Each scene also includes a realistic lifelike mannequin, complete with wrinkles and blemishes.

The museum also includes a vibrating mine tunnel that aims to replicate life in an early Westonian gold mine.  Visitors press a button upon entering the tunnel & then experience a three-minute sequence of sound effects and physical vibrations that simulate blasts going off in the vicinity of the mine.  The sound effects also include a conversation between miners working in the mine.

he display area of the museum incorporates early maps of the area, 1930’s photographs of Perth and surrounds, and many other displays housed in exquisitely made jarrah cabinets that were originally used by the Perth Mint.  The museum building & it’s Club Hotel façade was designed by David Guest of Eastern & Guest Design Architects.  The façade aims to represent the real-life Club Hotel which operated on Westonia’s main street between 1913 & 1922.

Address: 41 Wolfram Street, Westonia WA 6423
Website: https://www.westonia.wa.gov.au/explore/what-to-do-(attractions)/hood-penn-museum.aspx
Phone: (08) 9046 7063
Email: shire@westonia.wa.gov.au
Open: Monday to Friday 9.00 am to 4.30 pm (except on Public Holidays) via the Shire Office. The museum is also open on Saturdays and Sundays from 10am to 12pm. (Summer Holiday weekends open by appointment only.)
Admission: Entry is $3 for adults and $1 for anyone under the age of 18 years.

Dowerin District Museum

View how settlers lived between 1915-1930’s in a house furnished from the period and artefacts from the district. A saddler shop front contains early business memorabilia and pioneer history.

Address: Cotterell St, Dowerin
Phone: 08 9631 1202
Open: On request at the shire office
Admission: Entry fee applies

Koorda and Districts Museum

Housed in the old hospital buildings the museum features displays of medical instruments and hospital equipment. Early settler personal effects, equipment, photographs and machinery are also on display.

Address: Ninghan Road, Koorda
Phone: 08 9684 1219
Open: By appointment
Admission: $1

Koorda Motor Museum and Military

Collection of historic cars and military memorabilia from all wars.

Address: Allenby St, Koorda
Phone: 08 9684 1787
Open: By appointment
Admission: Donation

Nungarin Heritage Machinery and Army Museum

The Nungarin Heritage Machinery and Army Museum is housed in an original massive Army Vehicle Workshop building constructed in Nungarin in 1942-43 as part of Australia’s defense during WWII. The museum also has an imposing display of Military Memorabilia Including an impressive 10th Light Horse Collection dedicated to local WWI hero Trooper Joseph William Spillman. Other items on display include the rare Dingo Scout Car and the General Grant Tank and other military vehicles. A large collection of Agricultural Development heritage memorabilia and machinery is also displayed.

Visit the Museum Café for a cuppa and meet the locals and volunteers. Book a morning Tea or Luncheon (group bookings welcome). Sundays at the Museum Café is time for a Coffee and a Big Cooked Breakfast 8-10 am come down everyone welcome. The Museum is a non-profit organization and run by local volunteers. Donations or Loan of items for exhibits are always welcome

Address: Museum Ave, Nungarin
Website: https://www.nungarin.wa.gov.au/tourism/nungarin-museum.aspx
Phone: 08 9046 5108
Email: nungarinheritage@bigpond.com
Open: Museum Opening Times 9.00am – 4.00pm 7 Days
Admission: Adults $5, children free

Wyalkatchem CBH Agricultural Museum

Housed in one of the few 1936 type wheat bins that have been preserved along with a collection of agricultural, transport and railway exhibits.  Much of the machinery is still in working condition as is the “Waterloo Boy” one of the first John Deere tractor models made in 1920. It is one of very few in Australia and takes pride of place in the museum. The Visitor Centre and Library is now located at the front of the museum in ‘The Bushel’.

Address: Railway Terrace, Wyalkatchem
Phone: 08 9681 1500
Open: 7 days and on request
Admission: Entry Fee Applies

The Old School House - Wyalkatchem

Set up as a house of earlier times with articles in room settings. Also contains the old switchboard from the telephone exchange and various old printing machines.

Address: 41 Flint Street
Open: Viewing by appointment – Phone Pat 08 9681 1036 or Merle 089 681 1046
Admission: Gold coin donation